be social

Invincible Islanders cool the Hot Custards

The final of Guernsey Touch’s Channel Islands Club Championship was an all visitor affair with Jersey team The Islanders taking on London-based Hot Custard.

The London-based side, which bought two teams to the island, was looking to make it a hat-trick of victories having previously won the one day tournament in 2011 and 2014. The three visiting teams and five from Guernsey were split into two pools and competed in a round robin in the morning to determine the contenders for the cup and bowl competitions in the afternoon.

‘This was the eighth Channel Islands Club Championship and so it was great to have three visiting teams taking part. Not only does that give the local teams exposure to a higher standard of touch but it also brings visitors to Guernsey,’ said Guernsey Touch chair Ollie Ward.

‘Organising a tournament like this is a considerable undertaking and it wouldn’t be possible without the dedication of the committee, the referees and the players but the hard work was worth it when you see it all come together on the day.’

In the cup semi-finals Hot Custard 1 beat Hot Custard 2 and The Islanders beat Source Warriors. In the third place play off Hot Custard 2 beat Source Warriors 4 – 1 and in the fiercely competitive cup final it was The Islanders who took the title winning 5 - 4 against Hot Custard 1, despite a late comeback by the Londoners.

In the all-local bowl semi-finals James Gavey Architecture beat Barbarians and Healthspan Harlequins beat Electric Shocks. The second game went to a thrilling drop-off after the teams had tied at seven all. Both teams scored with their first possession in extra time and only when each team had just four players left was the deadlock broken to give Healthspan a 9 - 8 victory.

In the seventh place play-off Electric Shocks beat Barbarians 4 - 1 and in the bowl final JGA came back from 6-3 down to beat the Healthspan Harlequins 9 - 7.

There was silverware for two Guernsey players who scooped the most valuable player awards. Newcomer Anthony Armstrong from Source Warriors took the men’s prize and Megan de Garis from Healthspan Harlequins took the ladies.